Article 3 of Indian Constitution

Article 3 in The Indian Constitution

Formation of new States and alteration of areas, boundaries or names of existing States: Parliament may by law
(a) form a new State by separation of territory from any State or by uniting two or more States or parts of States or by uniting any territory to a part of any State;
(b) increase the area of any State;
(c) diminish the area of any State;
(d) alter the boundaries of any State;
(e) alter the name of any State; Provided that no Bill for the purpose shall be introduced in either House of Parliament except on the recommendation of the President and unless, where the proposal contained in the Bill affects the area, boundaries or name of any of the States, the Bill has been referred by the President to the Legislature of that State for expressing its views thereon within such period as may be specified in the reference or within such further period as the President may allow and the period so specified or allowed has expired Explanation I In this article, in clauses (a) to (e), State includes a Union territory, but in the proviso, State does not include a Union territory Explanation II The power conferred on Parliament by clause (a) includes the power to form a new State or Union territory by uniting a part of any State or Union territory to any other State or Union territory

India's Important Case Laws and Landmark Judgments on Constitution of India i.e. Article 3 of Indian Constitution:
M/S Adani Power Limited vs Gujarat Electricity Regulatory on 7 September, 2011 - Appellate Tribunal For Electricity - Cites 36 - Cited by 2 - Full Document
In Re: The Berubari Union vs Reference Under Article 143(1) on 1 April, 1959 - Supreme Court of India
The Board Of Trustees Of vs Chennai Container Terminal on 8 January, 2014 - Madras High Court
Additional District Magistrate vs Shivakant Shukla on 28 April, 1976 - Supreme Court of India
The Union Of India & Others vs Messrs. Bhana Mal Gulzari Maland on 16 December, 1959 - Supreme Court of India
Babulal Parate vs The State Of Bombay And Another on 28 August, 1959 - Supreme Court of India
Kesavananda Bharati vs State Of Kerala And Anr on 24 April, 1973 - Supreme Court of India
Maharana Shri Jayvantsinghji vs The State Of Gujrat on 22 December, 1961 - Supreme Court of India
Akadasi Padhan vs State Of Orissa on 5 December, 1962 - Supreme Court of India
Sahadu Gangaram Bhagade vs Spl. Deputy Collector on 30 March, 1970 - Supreme Court of India
The State Of Tripura vs The Province Of East Bengalunion on 20 December, 1950 - Supreme Court of India 


Popular posts from this blog

भारतीय संविधान से संबंधित 100 महत्वपूर्ण प्रश्न उतर

संविधान के अनुच्छेद 12 के अनुसार राज्य | State in Article 12 of Constitution

संविधान की प्रमुख विशेषताओं का उल्लेख | Characteristics of the Constitution of India